Chlorinated Hydrocarbons Groundwater Fate & Transport | ALGA
Building leaders in the sustainable management of contaminated land and groundwater

Chlorinated Hydrocarbons Groundwater Fate & Transport Symposium

Location: Adelaide

Date: 22nd – 23rd February 2024

Call for abstract : 1st October – 15th November 2023

Symposium Details

ALGA’s Groundwater Fate & Transport Special Interest Group (SIG) is pleased to announce the 2024 Chlorinated Hydrocarbons Groundwater Fate & Transport symposium will be held in Adelaide in late February 2024.

The focus of the 2024 symposium is the investigation, risk assessment, management, and remediation of chlorinated hydrocarbons. The symposium will be presented with support from the ALGA Vapour Intrusion SIG.

The symposium aims to share the latest insights, developments and applications for improving our understanding of the behaviour and risk of chlorinated hydrocarbons in both saturated and unsaturated environments.

Abstracts are now open!

The call for abstracts is open to hydrogeologists, geologists, remediation engineers, risk assessors, regulators, environmental managers and other industry professionals.

We look forward to receiving your submissions, getting involved in exciting industry conversations, questioning dogma, and working with you to explore and improve the industry’s understanding of chlorinated hydrocarbons, and their fate & transport in groundwater and risks associated with vapour intrusion.

2024 Topics focused on chlorinated hydrocarbons:

  1. Investigation – Source characteristics (DNAPL) and the potential to generate more toxic degradation products mean that chlorinated hydrocarbons require 3D approaches for investigation
  2. Risk Assessment –when is there is a problem, and how do we communicate the risk?
  3. Management approaches - from vapour barriers to venting to changes in land use
  4. Remediation – sledge hammer (excavation and/or insitu chemical reduction) or cajoling (enhanced reductive dechlorination)

Thank you to the Committee

Adrian Heggie, Technical Director, WSP
Anne Northway, Principal Hydrogeologist, Jacobs
Casey O'Farrell, Principal Contaminant Hydrogeologist, Tetra Tech
David Jackson, Director, Reditus
Frederic Cosme, Principal, Geosyntec Consultants Pty Ltd
James Coley, Senior Adviser, SA EPA
Joe Duran, Technical Director, Hydrogeology / EPA Environmental Auditor, WSP - chair
Melinda Morris, Principal Adviser, Site Contamination (Orphan Sites), SA EPA
Rachel Rait, Senior Environmental Geochemist, Mine Waste Management

P.O. Box: 3199, Robertson, NSW 2577
+ 61 2 4885 1136


ACN 151 172 735
ABN 70 240 612 745
IRD 116 017 768

© Australasian Land & Groundwater Association 2024